Do you know & understand your Chakras?

Do you know & understand your Chakras?

Get To Know and Understand Your Chakras

Do you know and understand your Chakras?


Have you ever heard of the Chakra system? While it might sound familiar, do you truly understand how your own personal Chakras work and what they look like? Surprisingly, when I connected with my 7 main Chakras I discovered that their colours didn’t align with the general system we commonly associate with them. This realisation led me to conduct workshops and find that many others have experienced similar revelations.

The Evolution of the Westernised Chakra System:

The Western perspective of the Chakra system has evolved over time drawing inspiration from various sources, including Christopher Hill’s book “Nuclear Evolution: Discovery of the Rainbow Body”. While we now identify Chakras with several distinct colours, a closer examination of ancient texts such as The Vedas reveals that Chakras were often depicted as divine entities, mantras and shapes without specific colour associations.

Understanding the Chakras as Energy Vortexes:

Derived from the Sanskrit word “cakra” meaning wheel, the Chakras are described as energy centres like vortexes within our bodies. When one Chakra gets blocked it can disrupt the flow of energy to other Chakras, potentially impacting our physical, mental and emotional well-being.

Connecting with Your Chakras:

My personal journey towards understanding my Chakras began with an exploration of each one’s unique qualities. By connecting with these energy centres, I realized that the direction of energy flow matters significantly. For instance, downward energy flow can create a feeling of blockage when it clashes with the upward energy flow.

Embracing Personal Experiences:

As I delved deeper into my Chakra exploration I was surprised to find that commonly reported associations with angels, crystals, and essential oils were not as straightforward as they seemed. I learnt to embrace and honour my personal experiences and intuition. It became evident that the connections between the elements and the Chakras are deeply unique and can vary from person to person.

Unlocking the Potential of Your Chakras:

Exploring and unlocking the potential of your Chakras can lead to personal growth  and transformation. Understanding how there energy centres interact with each other empowers you to address blockages, enhance your overall energy flow and achieve balance in your life.


The Chakra system is a fascinating and ancient concept that offers valuable insights into your inner self. By delving into this profound system, you gain a deeper understanding of yourself and the intricate connections between your physical, mental and emotional aspects. Take the first step in getting to know and understand your Chakras, embarking on a journey of self-discovery and healing.

Here is a brief general description of each Chakra

Root Chakra

Root Chakra (mūlādhāra):

Known as ‘the root of all things’ and located at the base of your spine. This Chakra is concerned with your needs, stability, trust, connectivity and enthusiasm for life. If it is out of balance you may find you feel sluggish, constipated, powerless, lost or not fully present.

Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra (svadhisthana):

Known as ‘centre of creativity, pleasure & enjoyment’ and located in the centre of your belly below your belly button near your genitals. This Chakra is concerned with your creativity, relationships, emotions, sense of adventure and of course sexuality. If it is out of balance you may find you are uninspired, uncreative, closed off or have a lack of sexual interest.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra (manipura):

Known as ‘city of jewels (centre of power)’ and located in your upper belly at your diaphragm. This Chakra is concerned with your self-confidence, joyfulness, digestive system, abundance, generosity and transformation. If it is out of balance you may find you feel jealous, greedy, insecure, egotistical or have issues with your digestive system.

Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra (anahata):

Known as ‘unhurt’ and located at the centre of the spine at heart level. This Chakra is concerned with compassion, empathy, love, forgiveness, connectedness and sense of trust. If it is out of balance you may find you feel insecure, broken hearted, lonely, fear, resentful or tightness in your chest.

Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra (vishuddhi):

Known as ‘Especially pure’ and located at the centre of your neck’. This Chakra is concerned with communication, expression of thoughts/feeling, sharing truth, being thankful and appreciative. If it is out of balance you may find you feel a lump in your throat, difficulty in expressing yourself, sorrow, shyness or sore throats.

Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye Chakra (ajna):

Known as ‘the seat of ‘intuition’ and located in the centre of your forehead between your eyes. This Chakra is concerned with self-awareness, knowledge, mindfulness, higher wisdom, imagination and intuition. If it is out of balance you may feel irritable, angry, easily provoked, self-doubt, mental fog, dissociation and confusion.

Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra (sahasrara):

Known as ‘the bridge to the cosmos (thousand petal lotus)’ and located above the crown of your head. This Chakra is concerned with universal consciousness, unity, deeper understanding and total connectivity with everything. If it is out of balance you may feel spiritual disinterest, boredom, depression and apathy.

There are many ways said to balance/unblock your Chakras including getting out in nature, dancing, mediation, using crystals, essential oils or yoga but the best way of finding out what you should do is by getting to know and understand your own personal Chakras.


Here you can Get To Know & Understand Your Chakras with a 7 week online program that you can do in your own time.

Leave a Comment